Nest Aware is a paid subscription service that we can use to keep us informed of all important events occurring at home. However, there are different reasons why we should know how to cancel Nest Aware and save money, especially if we no longer use these devices.
The functions that Nest Aware has will depend largely on the camera, speaker, or display that we have. It will also depend on our region and the functions available to use this platform.
How to cancel the Nest Aware trial?
There are two ways in which we will be able to cancel our Nest Aware trial, which will be as follows:
From the Nest application
In the Nest application, we can make the cancellation quickly. It will be enough to follow these steps:
- Enter the Nest application and select Settings.
- Select Nest Aware.
- Search among the functions the one that says Subscribe to Nest Aware.
- A Nest Store screen will appear.
- We will have to select manage next to the camera where we want to cancel the free trial.
- Finally, we select to cancel the service, and that will be it.
From the website
We will also be able to cancel our service through the official website of the application, following these steps:
- Visiting the Nest website, and there we log in with our account.
- We look for the subscriptions section from the account menu.
- Select the Cancel Nest Aware option.
- Confirm your selection by clicking Cancel Subscription.
Once we follow these steps, our Nest Aware subscription will be canceled, and we will not be able to access the services once our subscription ends.
Is it possible to cancel the subscription at any time?
If we have a monthly Nest Aware subscription, we can cancel it whenever we want. There is no need to wait until a certain date to cancel because we can cancel whenever we need to.
Initially, we will have a free 30-day trial subscription, and once it ends, we will have to pay to subscribe and continue using the features offered by the service. If we decide not to continue with the service, we cancel the trial version and will not be charged.
Nest cameras allow immediate video streaming right out of the box for free. However, we must pay for the service subscription to use all its functions.
Can I record with Nest without a subscription?
If we have a Nest Cam or Nest Doorbell camera, we can get up to 3 hours of video recording without a subscription. However, for most older models of cameras and doorbells, a subscription will be essential.
Thanks to the Nest Aware subscription, we can get the event video history or 24/7 video history in full. For this reason, if we want to take advantage of these devices’ benefits, it is best to pay the subscription that has a monthly price of $12 and an annual cost of $120.
Which is better, Ring or Nest?
Both services have advantages and disadvantages; on the one hand, Ring’s service is less expensive, with lower subscription fees. In addition, it has a 180-degree range of motion, so it is a service that the subscribers like very much.
However, Nest has better video quality, offers professional installation, and has a longer trial period. Both services feature night vision and a noise cancellation system that is quite effective.
What are the advantages of the Nest Aware service?
Thanks to this service, our Google Nest and Google Home speakers and displays will be able to detect when the sound of smoke or broken glass is heard. This service is available in the US only.
We will be notified in the Google Home app, where we can easily check what is happening in our homes. This way, we will be able to use emergency calls if necessary.
How do I disconnect Nest from an old account?
This procedure will be quite simple to follow, and it will be enough to locate the Nest device that we want to remove, and we must touch the options at the bottom of it. We will select remove the thermostat, then select delete and confirm that we want to delete it.
Once we finish this process, the device will be removed from our account. This will no longer appear on the application’s main screen. Thanks to this process, we can delete the thermostat if we leave the house.
When a device is disconnected from the Nest account, it will no longer be available in our Google Home account. This way, it will be unlinked from our Google account and unable to be used with it.
We should note that Nest videos will be stored for a total period of up to 30 days of video, and there will be no need to organize or manage the video. Everything will be stored in the cloud and deleted once the time period is over.
On the other hand, as for event-based videos, we can go back and check important sound and motion events for 30 or 60 days, depending on the plan we have in our subscription.